PDA

View Full Version : Tallahassee Militia

Nitch
03-25-09, 10:36 AM
To start I am not a fear monger, or a conspiracy theorist. I am an average 26yo College grad that grew up in a big city and has a reasonable disposition on most things.

As of late I have been researching the financial markets and following what is currently happening with this recession/depression. Amongst the reading I will come across a few Doomsday promoters. ( http://www.marketskeptics.com )
Saying that the dollar will hyperinflate, and markets break down. Big cities like Detroit will hit unemployment of 20%, and units like CCMRF will be deployed to control the chaos( http://www.cnn.com/2008/US/10/03/army.unit/ ).

Now I personally do not believe it will get this bad, but I also know that it is best to at least consider what to do if it does. No one likes to get caught with their pants down.

So I was contemplating ways to preserve the bubble of Tallahassee if things were to go bad. Which led me to consider a Tallahassee militia. The way I see it, the TM would serve a multitude of functions.

1. Peace keeping, only beyond what local law enforcement can handle on its own, and always subservient to LE within reason.
2. Seed Bank. Maintain, collect and protect seeds and food stores.
3. Wealth reserves. Bank like system that handles tangible wealth of the citizenry, like gold and silver.

Now I do realize that there are a lot of issues with this, like over zealous members. But that's why I wanted to bring it up here. I wanted to hear this groups positive ideas, and negative concepts. Mainly because if there is a day when this is needed, I figured that the members of these forums would be a part of it. Please let me know what you think.

Rumbler
03-25-09, 11:49 AM
Problem is, as I see it, right at the root: "Preserving the Tallahassee bubble".